Sukothai Historical Park

Sukothai Historical Park


Sukothai Historical Park

Sukothai Historical Park


Wat Chula Manee

Wat Chulamanee





History of Phitsanulok

Phitsanulok is one of the oldest city in Thailand. It was biult about 600 years ago but in fact Phitsanulok is the ancient community which is about 2000 - 4000 years ago. Besides Phitsanulok was found to have many old stone axes that was built by the stone age human.Also Phitsanulok was found to have the old temple at Wat Chula Manee Before Sukothai Era.

Sukothai Era ( The first capital of Thailand 1238-1378 )

Phitsanulok was the major city in the east of Sukothai that was governed by the son of the King because the King wanted to prevent Sukothai Kingdom from invading by Ayuthya Kingdom,the second Thai Kingdom which was built at the same time.

Ayuthya Era ( the second capital of Thailand 1350 - 1767 )

At that time Phitsanulok play the more major than it used to be.It was governed by the son of the King and also governed by the King,Borom Tri Logkanard, so that that time Phitsanulok was the capital of Thailand for about 25 years ( 1463 - 1487 A.D. ). Besides,Phitsanulok was the birth place of King Naresuan the Great (reign:1590 - 1605 ),he was the King that state the independence from the first dependency by Burma in 1584.

Thon Buri Era ( the third capital of Thailand 1767-1782 )

After the second dependency by Burma in 1767 there are many groups in Thailand that wanted to defeat other groups.Phitsanulok was one of these groups. But in the end the Thon Buri group won so Thon Buri was the third capital and Phitsanulok was the major city again.

Rattana Kosin Era ( tha present capital of Thailand 1782-present )

After the short time of Thon Buri Era, The first King of the Rattana Kosin Kingdom ( Bangkok ) built the present capital, Bangkok (1792-present) .The fifth King of this Kingdom,King Chula Longkorn the Great reign:1867-1910, managed Phitsanulok to be the main city of the Phitsanulok Precint. After that time the Precint administration was over and Phitsanulok was set to be the province. At the present Phitsanulok consists of 9 districts, Muang Phitsanulok district, Wang Thong district, Bang Rakam district, Bang Krathum district, Phrom Phiram district, Nakorn Thai district, Wat Bot district, Chat Trakarn district, and Noen Maphrang district.

Back to top

  • Phitsanulok used to be the capital of Thailand about 25 years in Ayuthya Era in 1463-1487 A.D.
  • Phitsanulok was the birth place of King Naresuan the Great.
  • Phitsanulok was the important city in many times in the past.
  • There is Phra Buddha Cinnarat that is mentioned to be the most beautiful images of the Buddha in the world.
  • The first Phitsanulok community is at Wat Chukamanee south of the present city about 5 kilometers.
  • The present city is on the Nan riverside near Wat Yai.
  • There are many walls in the past but at the early of The Rattana Kosin Era they are demolished because not wanted to be the shelter of the enemy.
  • Phitsanulok is the major city because it was located in the borderland inthe past between many Kingdoms and it is the good place to set the camp before fighting in the war.
  • Phitsanulok at the present has the age more than 640 year old that was nearly Sukothai and Chiang Mai
  Free counter and web stats